Islam first and foremost is based on belief in the Oneness of God and in Prophet Muḥammad (PBUH) as the last and final messenger, and adhering to this belief until one’s death.

Fundamentally, this belief is divided into two categories: faith and submission.

Our faith (internal belief) entails six matters:

  1. Belief in Allāh
  2. His angels
  3. His books
  4. His Messengers
  5. The Last Day
  6. Divine Decree

Our submission (external action) entails five matters:

  1. Testifying to believing in Allāh
  2. Praying the five daily prayers
  3. Giving the required charity
  4. Fasting in Ramadan
  5. Going to Hajj at least once in a lifetime (for those who are able).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s